Don’t you see the starlight?

Massie Block wove her fingers into a soft, knitted oversized cardigan as she pulled it down from the shelf, her arms dying to be adorned in the cashmere. One of her favorite things about fall was all the textures hanging in her closet and all the cozy fall fashion looks that almost transported her back to past Thanksgiving and Halloween memories.

“Massie, you better hurry up! We were supposed to be back at your house, like, twenty minutes ago,” Alicia snapped.

Massie cringed as she thought of the dreary skies overhead. Everyone on the East Coast was preparing for Hurricane Sandy that was supposed to destroy half of the city in the next couple of days.

“Seriously? That storm is just a little breeze and some rain! I don’t know why my parents are hosting this ‘Stock Up For Sandy’ thing anyway,” Massie replied to the five sets of eyes nervously peering at her.

Massie’s parents were holding a charity drive to collect medical gear and food for people who would soon be losing power due to the storm. Her mom had coined it “Stock Up For Sandy” to try and give the party a light atmosphere even though everyone was nervously awaiting the strong winds and heavy rains that would soon arrive.

“Fine, I’m buying this sweater and then we can leave,” Massie rushed over to the counter to purchase the gorgeous ivory knit cardigan.

In less than five minutes, the girls had stored their bags in Massie’s BMW’s trunk and were heading back to her estate. The drive almost felt like they had been transported to a horror movie where aliens/zombies invaded and everyone is either dead or huddled up in a bunker. The streets were almost completely empty, every window was marked by a star of tape, and there were tarps covering everyone’s beloved plants. Massie cringed as she tried to remind herself that the storm was nothing to worry about. It wasn’t even supposed to hit Westchester!

When they stepped through front door, Massie’s eyes bulged at the chaos before them. Her mother was trying to collect boxes while Inez loaded up all of the donated canned goods, bottled waters, medical supplies, and blankets. Her father was on his telephone while intently staring at the television screen.

“Ehmagawd, what are you guys doing?” Massie asked as she dropped her shopping bags onto the dining room table.

“We had to cancel the party. Also, where have you been? I’ve been calling you for the past hour!” Kendra practically shouted at Massie.

“I guess my phone died. What’s wrong?” Massie asked, worry creeping up into her throat.

“You may want to charge it while we still have power. Turns out the storm is going to hit Westchester and we need to grab all of our supplies, and get into the basement, now,” Kendra picked up a box and started toward the basement steps.

“Wait! Massie needs to take us home!” Dylan sputtered.

“No time girls! I’ve already talked to your parents and you’re staying with us. Everyone grab a box!” Kendra ushered everyone down the steps.

Massie grabbed a box of canned green beans, corn, and tomatoes and headed down the steps. The house was eerily silent as everyone contemplated how sturdy Massie’s house really was as the winds howled outside. When they finally arrived in the safest part of her basement, a living room with a mini-kitchen and a large television that was displaying the weather, the girls set the boxes down and settled onto the brown leather sectional.

“I’m gonna text Derrick and make sure he’s okay,” Massie said as she plugged in her phone. After firing off a quick text she turned back to the girls.

“Cam said that he’s with Josh but Derrick’s not with him,” Claire said, staring at her phone.

“Ugh, I hope no one gets hurt. Did you see the pictures of New York City?” Massie asked the girls.

“I did! So freaky,” Kristen bit her nails.

It was quiet for a minute as the girls fired off texts to their families and friends. After obsessively checking her Facebook, Massie couldn’t stand the silence any longer.

“Let’s talk about our Halloween party” Massie broke the silence.

“Since when are we having a Halloween party?” Victoria asked with a confused look.

“We always have! It’s like Pretty Committee tradition,” Alicia giggled.

“Andddd I thought this Halloween would be the perfect time to introduce you to everyone as an official Pretty Committee member!” Massie said with a grin on her face, waiting for everyone to burst out in excitement.

“Wait! I’ve officially been accepted?” Victoria asked, wide eyed.

“Yes!” Massie exclaimed as Victoria tackle-hugged her.

The girls squealed in excitement and Massie tried not to flinch as their voices bounced off the basement walls. Massie’s phone beeped and everyone laughed as she tried to un-weave herself from their hug to read it.

“It’s Derrick! He’s in his basement with his parents and your parents, Victoria,” Massie told them.

“Tell him to tell my parents I say hello and not to worry,” Victoria replied as she stuck a bag of microwaveable popcorn in the mini-kitchen’s microwave.

“Done!” Massie set her phone down on the large square coffee table.

The winds picked up and the girls groaned. They had been trapped in Massie’s basement for less than half an hour and they were already starting to feel claustrophobic.  It was going to be a long night….

“Ehmagawd, get that trash out of here!” Massie squealed as the wind blew in another plastic bag.

“Sorry Massie but the wind keeps blowing it in!” Inez called as she chased after it.

“I know but everyone will be here in less than an hour and I can’t have everyone stepping in trash!” Massie called out as she stomped back into the house.

Hurricane Sandy had finally blew out of Westchester but unfortunately had blown half of the east coast into her backyard. It took their gardeners over five hours to clean up the branches, bushes, plants, trash, sand, and water that had littered Massie’s yard that morning. However, after a ton of prep work, their house finally looked presentable and was decorated perfectly for Massie’s party. There was one large bonfire pit that was slowly starting to catch fire, twinkle lights and Chinese lanterns were strung from tree to tree, there was candy on every surface, and there even was a tray next to the bonfire with all of the supplies for s’mores. Inside Massie had set up a station for making hot chocolate, ‘scary’ deserts were sitting out on platters, and there was a display of mini pumpkins for everyone to have their friends sign.

Massie quickly hurried up to her bedroom and started putting on her costume. Derrick and her had decided to go as Barbie and Ken this year and the Pretty Committee was going as Barbie’s friends Midge, Stacey, Christie, Kelley and Jamie.  All of the girls were wearing hot pink mini dresses, blonde wigs, and hot pink lipstick. The boys were going to be decked out in the preppiest attire they could find. After Massie had slipped into her D&G “Barbie” dress, her doorbell rang. She quickly buzzed the girls up as she attempted to put on her wig, a not-so-simple task.

“Ehmagawd, you look like a life sized Barbie!” Alicia squealed as she hobbled in on her four inch heels.

“Thanks! You look…. really weird with blonde hair,” Massie said as she tried to take in tan Alicia and pale Dylan without their natural hair colors.

“I know, right? They looks so different!” Kristen giggled into Claire’s shoulder.

“Not all of us were born with blonde hair, Kristen and Kuh-laire,” Dylan snapped back at them.

“Ehmagawd stop bickering and help me get this wig on!” Massie said with bobby pins sticking out of her mouth.

Once the girls had stabilized Massie’s wig, added some pink lipstick, and had her diamond “Barbie” necklace hanging around her neck, the girls were ready to greet their guests.

“Your house looks so gorgeous! You can’t even tell it was a mess less than twenty four hours ago,” Victoria squealed with excitement.

“Thanks! I think…” Massie laughed as the doorbell rang.

After all of the guests had arrived, Massie could hardly make her way through the backyard. People were trying to squeeze in on dance floor and there wasn’t a single open spot around the bonfire. Once the Pretty Committee had found Derrick and the crushes, they had posed for pictures and were trying to make their way around to say hello to everyone but they had lost most of their group along the way.

Derrick finally dragged Massie onto the dance floor when something caught her eye, Landon Crane standing on her back deck and peering out into the crowd as if looking for someone. Massie stopped dancing and squinted her eyes, trying to get a better look. She saw Victoria walk onto the deck, catch Landon’s eye and then walk inside. Landon waited for five seconds and then stepped inside as well.

“Why is Landon at my party and why is Victoria not asking him to leave?!” Massie shouted over the music.

“What? Landon’s here?” Derrick said, getting defensive.

“Calm down, it’s okay. I think he’s here to see Victoria,” Massie told him.

“Wait, he likes my cousin?” Derrick’s face was turning red.

“Let’s go find them,” Massie took off toward the deck with Derrick trailing close behind her.

Once they were inside, Massie noticed Victoria standing with a group of guys that went to ADD, including Landon. Massie and Derrick walked up the group and interjected.

“You weren’t invited,” Massie told Landon.

“Really? Because you seemed totally cool with us hanging out when you drenched me with a poorly mixed cocktail last weekend,” Landon said with a cocky smile.

“Are you done? Because you’ve been officially invited to leave,” Massie said as Derrick grabbed his arm and attempted to drag him toward the front door.

Massie turned to Victoria.

“Why were you talking to him?” She asked, her eyes accusing.

“I didn’t realize it was a big deal he was here,” Victoria said.

“Um, was it your evil twin who went on that date with Landon last week or did all the debris from Hurricane Sandy hit you in the head and make you lose your memory?” Massie asked her, trying to understand what she was thinking.

“I’m sorry Massie. I didn’t realize it was a problem I invited him.” Victoria replied.

“Wait, you invited him? You knew I didn’t want him here. Derrick hates him and now he is totally freaked out,” Massie asked her.

“I’m sorry, it won’t happen again. I have to go now though, my parents just texted me. Thanks for having me,” Victoria walked away from Massie and disappeared into the crowd.

Massie stood there, stunned into silence. Had Victoria done a complete one-eighty, or was it just her? The same girl who hated Landon last week was now inviting him to her party?

“Hey! I just watched Landon drive away but I saw Victoria out there too. Is she leaving?” Derrick asked as he put his arm around Massie’s waist.

“Yeah she left. Apparently she invited Landon….” Massie’s face was scrunched up in confusion, definitely not a cute-Barbie look.

“I’ll try to talk to her,” Derrick said as he kissed Massie on the forehead.

Massie smiled at him and told him she was going to find the girls. She walked into the kitchen and then toward the front door, trying not to step loudly in her heels. She opened the front door and surveyed her long circular driveway, looking for Victoria and Landon. A flash of pink caught her eye as Landon’s car turned off her driveway and onto the road.

Massie watched it drive by as she noticed a girl with blonde hair and a neon pink dress tussle Landon’s hair softly and giggle loudly over the music.

Bonjour Alphas,

Happy Halloween!

Thank you all for your support in my last post, MQ has admitted to being Gossip Girl and apologized for any feelings that she may have hurt. Since she is truly sorry for what she did, we’ve all forgiven her and agreed to move on. I encourage you all to as well! If you don’t know what I am talking about, view my last post to see her apology. Keep in mind that any Gossip Girls that may pop up in the future are best left ignored, blocked, or comment spammed. We all know their blogs are lower-than-low so don’t give them the pleasure of comments, views, or a good argument.  Just remember that you’ll always be better than them, so don’t even bother wasting your breath! As Eleanor Roosevelt said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

If you have any positive gossip you want to submit about yourself to SpotlightOnTheSocialites visit our Spotted page and fill out the form!  Since I am part of SOTS now, I will be posting less WordPress Gossip on MBL and more on there so if you’re missing all of my updates, visit SOTS to read them!

I have a new Claire! Visit her blog and drop her a comment 🙂

Click here to see Massie’s Barbie Halloween Costume!

WordPress Alphas:

http://aliciariveraheartsyou.wordpress.com

http://xoxoaliciaheartsyou.wordpress.com

http://fabulousmassieblockxo.wordpress.com

http://thealphainpurple.wordpress.com/

http://officialaurorablake.wordpress.com

http://xoaliciarivera.wordpress.com

http://outonaleesh.wordpress.com

http://misskrissexysportsbabe.wordpress.com/

http://clairebearstaceylyons.wordpress.com

http://lovelymassieblock.wordpress.com

http://fashionmassieblock.wordpress.com

http://rachelgracewoodlands.wordpress.com

Stay Beautiful,
-M. 

37 thoughts on “Don’t you see the starlight?

  1. MBL,
    As usual, that was another fabulous post!
    I cannot believe that the hurricane almost killed you all!
    I’m so glad that you are safe 😀
    That is so cay-ute how you and Derrick went and Barbie & Ken! (:
    I’m shocked that Victoria did that!
    I can’t wait to see what you do to her! 😉
    Thank you so much for putting me on your alpha list, it means so much to me!
    I heart you,
    Alicia Rivera
    PS: Hope you have a great Halloween!

  2. Hey girlie!
    Luv the post 🙂 Thank gawd that ur safe! Luv the Barbie costume. Ah-dorable that u and Derrington went together as Barbie and Ken! 😀 I can’t believe Victoria invited Landon. And that they left together 😦 I know u have awesome revenge planned. Looking forward to ur next post!
    I heart u!
    – FG<3

  3. MBL,

    Glad you stayed safe Mass! Sandy didn’t do much damage to me though, she was pretty much a normal storm!

    I can’t believe Victoria did that? Maybe it’s time to drop her?

    OAOMB

  4. Hello Darling,
    Gorgeousness Post!
    First of all I am loving Starlight by Taylor Swift right now, its so catchy.
    That’s sweet your parents were holding a charity drive to collect medical gear and food for people who would have lost power due to the storm. Especially since news broke the storm was to hit Westchester too!
    Beyond glad to here Victoria has been accepted into TPC, she is too worthy to let go.
    The décor for the Halloween Party sounds like perfection, especially since you had to work hard to get it presentable due to the east coast being blown into your backyard.
    Your costume of Barbie to go with Derrick’s Ken sounds ever so cute, especially since the Pretty Committee were going as Barbie’s friends too.
    Apart from the minor disruption with Victoria and Landon sounds like the traditional Halloween Party was fabulous.
    I definitely agree that we should all move on from the Gossip Girls!
    I’ll definitely be sure to check out your new Claire’s blog.
    Intrigued to see who would my ♚Gruesome Goolies contest? Be sure to check out my most recent post!
    Much Appreciated.
    Love You,
    Natalie x 🙂

    • Hey Natalie! Haha, I know, right?! The song has been stuck in my head ever since Madeline mentioned it on her Instagram. Thank you! We thought the barbie idea was unique 🙂 Glad to hear you agree with us! It would definitely be best to just ignore them!

  5. Hey Massie! Its me Skye on my buh-rand new blawg! Lovely post. Hurrican Sandy hit pretty hard around here didnt it. But im glad you girlies are okay. Your Halloween party seemed fa-boo-licious! Victoria may seem nice,but she is a little hypocrytical with the whole “Landon Thing”. I hope it all works out!

    XOXO,
    Skye L. Hamilton

  6. Hey Massie!
    Your “clique” writing in third persons seems to get better with each post! I loved the realism, detailing, the original Massie-esque personality and voice that you’re able to portray almost as perfect as Lisi Harrison herself. 🙂 It’s really brilliant that you’ve incorporated Massie into a sweet girl, but that we can still catch glimpses of her more sassy attitude in your posts.
    I’m on the edge of my seat to hear what happens to Victoria. Honestly, I’m rooting for Victoria and Landon. There’s just something about them…
    Anyways, loved the post! I’ll be looking forward to your next one.
    ♥ Madeleine

    p.s. I love the title! It’s my favorite song on the album. 🙂

    • Aww thank you so much! Hearing that from you means so much as your writing is beautiful 🙂 I’m glad I am imitating Lisi, well that was my goal when I started writing this way! Thank you! Haha I know, they’re the match that no one ever expected! Thank you 🙂 Haha thanks for mentioning it on your Instagram, I looked it up and loved it

  7. Hey MBL,
    Loved this post!
    Congrats to Victoria for being accepted in the Pretty Committee. (:
    Hurricane Sandy hit the east coast pretty hard, its good to hear nothing too bad happened & that your safe. 😀
    I adore your Halloween costume! Its adorable ♥
    I find the whole Landon and Victoria thing pretty suspicious at this point…… :-/ Wonder whats happening with them. >.<
    Its great to hear that MQ has confessed to being GG, hopefully everybody will forgive her & move on. ^.^
    I'll visit your new Claire's blog right after this. 😀
    Check out my new post? xx
    xoxo- Juna∞

  8. Hey Massie!
    Glad you’re safe from Hurricane Sandy!
    Your Halloween costume sounds ah-dorbs! Barbie and Ken is a great idea!
    I wonder what Victoria and Landon are up to.
    Thanks for the shoutout!
    I’d love to see your next post! 😀

    Love ya! ~MB

  9. Hey, M!
    I haven’t seen your blog in a while, but as usual, this makeover is gorgeous! IRL we were struck by Sandy…. no power for 3 days! I had to shower with a flashlight.
    Curious as to what’s going on between V and L.
    Good luck in SSBXOXO’s contest!
    ~KLS

    • Hey! Awww thank you 🙂 I’m so glad you like it! EMG, I’m glad you’re alright!! At least you have your power back now 🙂 Hahahaha that sounds like something I would never want to try. Me too! Thank you so much girlie (:

  10. MBL,
    I’m so sorry you and the people of Westchester had to suffer. Sniffles! I just started reading your blog, I know. How stupid am I to start right now?!” And I LUH-V IT! Hopefully, I will have as many adoring fans as you do. I am honoured to have you read my blawg,

    Luh-v,
    AMBK<33

  11. Hey! I am so glad you’re okay and nothing bad happened to you during Hurricane Sandy, it was really disastrous! I am really jealous of your costume! Like I said on AHRY’s blog, something is up with Victoria! Maybe you should dig a little deeper to find out what’s up with her!

Share Your Beautiful Thoughts

